The Structure of the Society

The Council

The Council consists of twelve Members of the Society.  Members of Council continue in office for a term of three years: four Members of Council retire each year.  They are elected by the members, a vote being taken if more candidates are proposed than there are vacancies on the Council.

The Council appoints a Chair and a Vice Chair. The Chair of Council of the Society is Mrs Janet James and the Vice-Chair is Mr Ernest Coulthard.

The Council:

  • Has control over all the affairs and property of the Society
  • Makes or amends regulations regarding the Registrations and Transfers, The Dales Pony Stud Book, Stallion Licences and Service Book, Stallion, Colt and Mare Premiums, the Breed Shows, and the distribution of awards
  • Reviews the Judges’ List

During the current coronavirus pandemic, the Council meetings are being held monthly via the Zoom virtual meeting platform.

Current Council Members:

Mrs Glenis Cockbain
Mr James Cockbain
Mr Ernest Coulthard
Mrs Penny Eminson
Mrs Janet James
Mrs Ellen Jones
Ms Lindsay Knight
Mr Stephen Longstaff
Mr Charlie Parker
Miss Anna Pennell
Mrs Helen Robinson
Mrs Lynsey Swales

Honorary Positions


The President is an Honorary Member of the Society and represents the Society on special occasions and promotes its objectives and aims.  The President is Mr Jeff Daley.

The Council appoints the President and may appoint Life Vice Presidents.



The Secretaries are the main contact points for information about the Society.

The DPS Registrar is responsible for pony registrations, passports and membership.  All other administration activities are the responsibility of the Honorary Secretaries.

DPS Registrar

Contact address:

DPS Registrar

Holme House, Dale, Ainstable, Carlisle, CA4 9RH

Telephone : 01768 870523


Honorary Secretary

Miss April Hughes

Preferred contact is by email:

Hollybush Farm, Littlebeck, Whitby, North Yorkshire

YO22 5HY

phone: 07877 316864


Mr Ian Graham


Other Appointments

Assistant Secretary

The Assistant Secretary for Show Affiliations is Ms Lindsay Knight.


Dales Affiliation Form 2022

Show Secretary

The Show Secretary is Mrs Kate Waite


Points Competition Secretary

The Points Competition Secretary is Miss Sarah Evans.

Please see the Points Competition page.

Annual General Meeting

The Society holds its Annual General Meeting in the Winter of each year.  This is usually at the beginning of November and is held in the environs of Barnard Castle in County Durham.

The notice calling the AGM includes the audited accounts of the Society, whose financial year runs from 1 September to 31 August.